WordPress Versus WordPress?

[ The grass is always greener on the other side. – Anonymous ]

In my article, Where can I post a blog for free?, I compared world’s most popular publishing platforms: WordPress, Joomla and Drupal, and concluded that WordPress is the most popular in the CMS space (Blogging). WordPress is easy to use and does not require any technical skills. And that makes it the top choice for newbies in the blogging world.

I am not a web-designer or web-based programming wizard. Rather I want to use my time to focus on my niche, my content and refrain from coding and adding various functionalities and features. I have a knack for it and find it very interesting so it was very hard to hold myself back because I understand learning web-development has a learning curve and is a time consuming affair and it’s not advisable to do so just to build one web-site!

But it doesn’t mean WordPress doesn’t offer you that capability, if you are fond of web-technologies and want to get your hands dirty with bits and pieces of HTML, CSS, etc. There are 2 flavors of WordPress: WordPress.org and WordPress.com ! It’s just not the difference in domain names (org Vs com) but their use-case also. WordPress.org provides you free software and you have full freedom to build and enhance your blog/ website in every possible way (within the confines of the software capabilities itself).

Please find more details about WordPress.org Vs WordPress.com in my article: Start a WordPress Blog?

Leave a Reply

